Skip to content
Study in China Q&A

Do I need proof of funds to study in China?

Unofficial answer · Sources checked

Yes at the admission stage, and usually not at the visa stage. Your university must examine your financial guarantee documents before it admits you (Order No. 42, Article 12), and each university sets its own required standard from tuition, accommodation and local living costs (2018 quality standards, section 2.6); neither text prints a national figure. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs' X1 visa document list names no financial proof at all, so the answer at the visa stage depends on what your own embassy or consulate asks for.

All Chinese official texts quoted on this page are this site's own English translation of the Chinese; the articles and sections cited below are the parts read for this page.

What the admission rules say

The enrolment rules place the check at the university, not at a national authority:

  • Order No. 42, Article 12 says a higher education institution must examine the admission qualifications and the financial guarantee documents of a foreign national who applies, must test or assess the applicant, decides admission itself, and may not enrol anyone who fails to meet its enrolment conditions.
  • The 2018 quality standards, section 2.6, tell the university what that check must rest on: it sets its own financial guarantee standard on the principle that the funds can reasonably cover study, living and international travel, using its tuition and accommodation fee standards and the general local cost of living. If the local government education authority issues a guiding standard, the university follows that standard. The university must require applicants to provide financial guarantee documents meeting the standard and must review them with care and diligence.
  • Section 2.1 of the same standards lists what must appear in a university's published admission information, including the financial guarantee requirement, the fee standards, the payment methods and the refund policy.

So the required standard exists as a university rule, and it should be published. What neither document gives is a number: the articles read for this page set the method for fixing the amount and place the decision with the school, but they do not print any amount.

Stage Financial document required by the text Amount given
Admission, Order No. 42 Article 12 Yes, the university must review it Not stated in that article
Admission, quality standards 2.6 Yes, university sets its own standard Not stated; set from tuition, accommodation, local living costs
X1 visa, MFA general instruction No financial proof in the list Not applicable
X1 visa, Embassy in Pakistan (its own requirement) Yes, scholarship proof or proof of financial resources US$2,500 per academic year or equivalent in Pakistani rupees
X1 visa, Embassy in Bangladesh (its own requirement) Self-funded applicants submit a bank statement At least US$2,500 each year

Who decides the amount

The university decides it first, using the method in section 2.6, and must publish its financial guarantee requirement under section 2.1. The local government education authority may set a guiding standard, in which case the university follows it. For a specific figure, ask the international student office of the university you are applying to.

For the visa, the Ministry's general instruction states requirements as required by the Chinese embassy or consulate-general in your locality, so that mission's own page governs your application. Two missions publish their own financial conditions:

  • The Embassy of the People's Republic of China in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan lists, for X1 (study in China for more than 180 days), a printout of the Confirmation Form for Study in China (Form JW201 or JW202) submitted online, a photocopy of the admission letter, and "Evidence of scholarship issuance or a proof of financial resources amounting to US$2,500 per academic year or equivalent Pakistan Rupees." Its note adds that the closing balance of the supporter's bank statement should be enough to cover the student's whole period of study in China. For a student holding a valid study residence permit who leaves China and does not return before it expires, the instruction also asks for the original and a photocopy of a formal university letter confirming that the student is continuing to study in China.
  • The Embassy of the People's Republic of China in the People's Republic of Bangladesh lists, for X1, the Confirmation Form for Study in China (Form JW201 or JW202) and the original admission letter for higher education students. Applicants with scholarship support provide the relevant proof; self-funded applicants submit a bank statement, which its page says should prove the applicant has at least US$2,500 each year for study in China.

These two figures are each embassy's own statement, quoted as printed. They are not a rule for all Chinese embassies or consulates, and they do not change what a university requires for admission.

What the official pages do not say

The X1 visa list on the Ministry's consular service site gives only the admission letter and Form JW201 or JW202, together with the note that the holder must apply for a residence permit within 30 days of entering China at the exit-entry administration of the public security bureau at or above county level of the intended place of residence; that list contains no financial document. The sections read for this page do not state what form of bank statement, sponsorship letter or scholarship award letter meets a university's guarantee standard, nor how long the funds must have been held. The pages read for this page do not give tuition, accommodation or living-cost figures, so no total is given here. The 2018 quality standards addressed this to higher education institutions as a trial standard and are not an application guide.

For your own case, ask the university's international student office about the admission guarantee and the embassy, consulate-general or visa centre handling your application about the visa requirement.

Related questions

Do I need the funds again for the residence permit after I arrive?

The pages read for this page do not say. The consular instruction note says only that the X1 holder must apply for a residence permit within 30 days of entering China at the exit-entry administration of the public security bureau at or above county level of the intended place of residence; it lists no financial document for that step. Ask the exit-entry office handling your case.

Which form do I need for the X1 visa, JW201 or JW202?

The consular instruction and both embassy pages name Form JW201 or Form JW202 as the Confirmation Form for Study in China, without explaining which applicant receives which form. The university issuing the form, or the mission taking your application, can tell you which one you hold.

Does the university have to refund my fees if I withdraw?

Order No. 42, Article 12 does not cover refunds. The quality standards, section 2.1, require a university's published admission information to include its fee standards, payment methods and refund policy, so the refund rule to read is the one your university publishes. See /costs/.

Sources

Checked 11 October 2026

This page is an unofficial summary, is not legal or immigration advice, and is not published by or affiliated with the bodies named above; where anything on this page differs from the official text or from the instructions of the university, embassy, consulate or exit-entry office handling your case, that official text and those instructions prevail.

Rules change. This answer reflects the official pages on the date above. If it differs from the current official page, follow the official page.

Search other questions

Study in China Q&A