Skip to content
Study in China Q&A

What does the Chinese Government Scholarship cover?

Unofficial answer · Sources checked

The Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship lists four covered items: tuition, a free university dormitory place or an accommodation subsidy, a monthly stipend that depends on your level, and comprehensive medical insurance. The stipend is CNY 2,500 a month for undergraduates, CNY 3,000 for master's students and general scholars, and CNY 3,500 for doctoral students and senior scholars; insurance is set at CNY 800 per person per year, or CNY 400 per person for programmes lasting less than six months. International airfare is not on that list.

What the coverage list says

Section III of the Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship gives the coverage as four numbered items. The amounts below are the amounts printed there.

Item What the guide states Amount as printed
Tuition Tuition fees No amount printed
Housing Free university dormitory or accommodation subsidy No amount printed
Stipend Monthly, by level CNY 2,500 (undergraduates); CNY 3,000 (master's students, general scholars); CNY 3,500 (doctoral students, senior scholars)
Medical insurance Comprehensive medical insurance CNY 800 per person per year; CNY 400 per person for programmes of less than six months

Section II of the same guide states that the scholarship sponsors undergraduates, postgraduates, general scholars and senior scholars, and that designated Chinese universities offer programmes in science, engineering, agriculture, medicine, economics, law, management, education, history, literature, philosophy and fine arts, among others. For the list of designated universities and their majors, the guide refers readers to the Campus China website.

How long the award lasts

Section II of the guide states that the scholarship covers both major study and Chinese language (preparatory) study. The language courses last one year. The duration of the scholarship for major study conforms to the duration required for that major.

Where international airfare appears

The coverage section of the Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship does not list international airfare. Two other pages read for this page do provide for it, and each applies to its own programme.

The Guidebook to the ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship has a separate section on funding of international round-trip air fare. For master's and doctoral degree students it provides one round-trip fare for the first visit to China and the return home after graduation, plus one round-trip fare for a home visit at the end of each academic year, excluding the graduation year. Students buy economy-class tickets themselves and apply to the host university for reimbursement against the original receipt; the ceiling is 3,000 RMB for the first-arrival ticket and for the return ticket on graduation, and 6,000 RMB for a home-visit round trip, with any excess borne by the student. For research scholars the same guidebook provides one international round-trip fare, economy class, reimbursed by the host university against the original receipt, not exceeding 6,000 RMB.

The Embassy of the People's Republic of China in Bangladesh, in its announcement of 19 December 2025 on Chinese Government Scholarship (CGS) / CSC Type A, lists international round-trip airfare as part of the coverage it describes, along with full tuition fees, on-campus accommodation, comprehensive medical insurance, and a monthly living allowance of approximately CNY 2,500–3,500 depending on programme level. That is the embassy's statement about the intake it announced; it is not a line from the general guide.

What the official pages do not say

The Application Guide page carries no publication date and no academic year, so the amounts above are the amounts printed on the page as it was read, not amounts tied to a named intake. The coverage section read for this page does not list airfare, and it does not state whether any given recipient's award includes it; for that, ask the international student office of the university handling your case or the embassy that announced your intake. The ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship guidebook gives no application deadline date. The Bangladesh embassy's announcement gives an application deadline of 10 January 2026; that deadline belongs to the intake named there and has passed, and the notice for a next intake had not been published on that page when it was checked.

Related questions

Is the Chinese Government Scholarship fully funded for every item I will pay for?

The documents read for this page describe coverage in terms of the items listed above and do not use the word "fully funded" as a defined term; the Bangladesh embassy's announcement is the page that describes the scholarship as fully funded. Whether the listed items leave you with costs of your own is not stated in the sections read.

Does the scholarship pay for flights home during the summer?

The ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship guidebook provides one round-trip home-visit fare at the end of each academic year, excluding the graduation year, with a 6,000 RMB ceiling and reimbursement through the host university. The coverage section of the general Application Guide does not list airfare at all.

How much is the monthly stipend?

CNY 2,500 for undergraduates, CNY 3,000 for master's students and general scholars, and CNY 3,500 for doctoral students and senior scholars, per section III of the Application Guide.

Do I have to study Chinese for a year first?

Section II of the guide states that the language courses last one year and that the scholarship covers both language (preparatory) study and major study; who must take the language year is not stated in the sections read for this page.

Sources

Checked 10 October 2026

This page is an unofficial summary, is not legal or immigration advice, and is not published by or affiliated with the bodies named above; where the official text or the instructions of the university, embassy or exit-entry office handling your case differ, those prevail.

Rules change. This answer reflects the official pages on the date above. If it differs from the current official page, follow the official page.

Search other questions

Study in China Q&A